29
Jan
11

Timeshare Properties Continue to Loose Value

Obviously, as you can see, I have not posted in quite a while as I have been busy with other projects.  Additionally, I am also a recruiter for a multi-billion dollar company.  What is interesting is that I have come across a number of resumes over the past several months in the Orlando area (where I live), resulting in many of those resumes belonging to individuals that were employees of  timeshare property developers.  In speaking to many of them, I have found that the timeshare industry over the past 2 years has definitely had its share of financial problems. 

What I have been told by many is that it is becoming more difficult to sell timeshare property directly from the property developers, and that many of the families looking into purchasing timeshare property have now looked to the web for “better deals”!  I recall speaking to one potential recruit that worked for one of the larger timeshare property developers here in Orlando, in the in-house sales department, that many of the families are  making the rounds on several timeshare properties during their vacation just to obtain the free cash and tickets to various attractions and restaurants in the central Florida area.  This individual told me that she has been told by more than one family that they had no intention of purchasing direct from her company as the timeshare properties available on the web were indeed, much cheaper.

I have been searching the web lately and found that many of these timeshare properties are actually being giving away for a “song”, provided that the new owner takes over the annual maintenance fees and any other incidental fees that may have been incurred during the previous owners membership.  Lets face it.  The economy is showing little or no improvement during the past year, and frankly, I am not convinced that we will see improvement anytime soon.   I fear one of the biggest problems that current timeshare owners are experiencing lately, is the annual maintenance fees.  With our current economy on a continual downturn, families cannot afford those fees; so as a result, they must either sell the property or loose it anyway to the property owners.

Over the next few months, I plan to visit many of these timeshare properties in the central Florida area to obtain information that I trust, will help those reading my blog, with valuable information, whether you are thinking of buying, selling, or just holding on to the property you currently own.

I will be posting a little more often now that I have more time on my hands to address the concerns of this industry.



Vacation Hotspots

Blog Stats

  • 1,620 hits

Categories